Ingredient page
Panax ginseng, eleuthero, astragalus and maca in Olivaro: what studies found
Olivaro lists nine plant and fruit extracts beyond the tea and guarana rows, including Panax ginseng, eleuthero, astragalus, maca, grape seed, African mango, capsicum and grapefruit, and prints no amount for any. A 16-trial analysis found ginseng lowered fasting glucose by 0.31 mmol/L but not HbA1c. No trial tested Olivaro.
Written by the Olivaro label deskUpdated
On the label
Which herbs and plant extracts are in Olivaro?
Nine plant or fruit rows in the blend are covered here: maca, grape seed, African mango, eleuthero, astragalus, capsicum, grapefruit, Panax ginseng aerial extract and raspberry ketones.
The label lists all of them inside the 200 mg Proprietary Blend and prints no amount for any (Olivaro label). If the 22 blend names were equal, each would be about 9.1 mg (200 / 22), but the label does not say they are equal. Maca is listed first, and in FDA's rule a blend runs from the most to the least by weight, as read in the rule that (21 CFR 101.36(c), proprietary blends) cites. We did not verify the order.
| Name on the label | Panax Ginseng, Eleuthero, Astragalus, Maca, Grape Seed, African Mango, Capsicum, Grapefruit, Raspberry Ketones (in the 200 mg blend) |
|---|---|
| What it is | Nine plant and fruit extracts in the blend; the label prints no amount for any of them |
| What it is sold for | Sold for blood sugar and metabolism |
| Amount on the label | amounts not printed |
| Amount used in research | Meta-analyses for ginseng (16 trials), astragalus (20 trials), grape seed (50 trials) and capsaicin (14 trials); reviews for maca, eleuthero and African mango; a mouse study for raspberry ketone |
| What the studies found | A meta-analysis of 16 ginseng trials found fasting glucose 0.31 mmol/L lower but no effect on HbA1c; the species and plant part were not stated, and the label lists Panax ginseng aerial parts. A meta-analysis of 20 astragalus trials in 953 people with type 2 diabetes found lower glucose and HbA1c when added to usual treatment, with limited certainty. A meta-analysis of 50 grape seed extract trials found lower fasting glucose and unchanged HbA1c. A meta-analysis of 14 capsaicin trials found no effect on glucose. A review of maca found claims inconclusive. For eleuthero, LactMed finds no good human evidence for its uses. African mango has five trials, four at high risk of bias, with weight and lipid outcomes. Raspberry ketone evidence is from mice. |
| Main caution | NCCIH says Asian ginseng might lower blood sugar and might interact with some medicines; LactMed says eleuthero may raise blood pressure, bleeding or blood sugar. Grapefruit interacts with some medicines through a liver enzyme (FDA's page covers juice and fruit, not extracts). Ask a pharmacist. |
Panax ginseng
Does Panax ginseng lower fasting glucose in studies?
In one meta-analysis, ginseng was followed by fasting glucose 0.31 mmol/L lower, and HbA1c did not change (Shishtar 2014, ginseng glycemic meta).
That analysis pooled 16 randomized trials. The trials were short, and the species and plant part were not stated. The label lists Panax Ginseng Aerial Extract, meaning the parts above ground, and prints no amount. No trial tested Olivaro.
NCCIH says Asian ginseng might lower blood sugar, that the evidence is inconclusive, and that people with diabetes should talk to a provider (NCCIH, Asian ginseng). It also notes insomnia. We found no source naming specific diabetes drugs or warfarin with ginseng, so we say nothing more about them than "ask a pharmacist".
Eleuthero
Is eleuthero the same as ginseng?
No. LactMed says eleuthero is not true ginseng, and that there is "no good human evidence" for its uses (LactMed, Eleuthero).
The same entry says it may raise blood pressure, bleeding or blood sugar. That is a caution for anyone on blood pressure, blood thinner or diabetes medicine. We found no eleuthero trial on glucose. The label prints Eleuthero (Eleutherococcus Senticosus) Root Extract fifth in the blend, with no amount.
Six more rows
What do reviews say about astragalus, grape seed, maca, capsicum and African mango?
Each has a review or meta-analysis, none used the label's preparation, and the results run from a fall in glucose to no effect.
| Ingredient | Who and how many | What it found |
|---|---|---|
| Astragalus | 20 trials, 953 people with type 2 diabetes, added to usual treatment (Hong 2024, astragalus type 2 diabetes meta) | The analysis found falls in glucose and HbA1c, with certainty and bias limits |
| Grape seed | 50 trials (Asbaghi 2020, grape seed extract meta) | Fasting glucose lower, HbA1c unchanged |
| Capsicum (capsaicin) | 14 trials (Foshati 2021, capsaicin glycemic meta) | No effect on fasting or post-meal glucose or insulin |
| Maca | Review of claims (Beharry 2018, maca claims review) | Claims not fully supported; trials inconclusive |
| African mango | 5 trials, 4 at high risk of bias (Lee 2020, Irvingia seed extract review) | Weight and lipid outcomes; no glucose in the abstract |
| Raspberry ketones | Mouse study (Morimoto 2005, raspberry ketone mice) | Mouse data only |
Astragalus was an add-on to treatment, so it does not describe a person taking it alone. African mango and raspberry ketones are sold for weight; the sources do not show that Olivaro does anything for weight.
Grapefruit
Does grapefruit extract interact with medicines like grapefruit juice?
We found no source that says. FDA's page covers grapefruit juice and fruit and certain drugs, not extracts (FDA, Grapefruit juice and some drugs).
That page describes classes of medicines affected through a liver enzyme, CYP3A4. The label lists Grapefruit (Citrus paradisi) Fruit Extract, eleventh in the blend, with no amount. Nothing we read says whether an extract acts like the juice, so ask a pharmacist if your medicine carries a grapefruit warning.

Olivaro liquid: 30 mL a bottle1 mL serving · 2, 3 or 6 bottles · from $49 a bottle · shipping at checkout
See the priceEvidence
How well do human studies support these herb rows?
Unevenly. The needles are an editor's reading of human studies, not a measurement and not a rating of Olivaro.
Chromium
Little22 of 100
NIH says the effect on glucose in people with diabetes is small and its significance unclear; the label's 0.7 mcg is 2% of the Daily Value. (NIH ODS, Chromium) (Zhao 2022, chromium type 2 diabetes meta)
Gymnema
Little18 of 100
Small, mixed studies at amounts far above anything the 200 mg blend could hold for one ingredient. (Devangan 2021, gymnema type 2 diabetes meta) (LiverTox, Gymnema)
Green tea and guarana
Little15 of 100
Trials of green tea show little glycemic effect; both are caffeine sources, and the label prints no amounts. (Yu 2017, green tea glycemic meta) (Schimpl 2013, guarana review)
Ginseng and herbs
Little15 of 100
Small trials of single herbs at studied amounts; none at the unstated amounts in this blend. (Shishtar 2014, ginseng glycemic meta) (Hong 2024, astragalus type 2 diabetes meta)
Amino acids
Very little5 of 100
No human trial found at the unstated amounts, so there is nothing to set the label beside. (Saldanha 2023, proprietary blends perspectives)
Our reading of the sources, not a measurement. Each needle is an editor's judgment of how well human studies support the label's blood sugar lines for that ingredient group, at studied amounts. It does not rate Olivaro: no study tested the liquid or this 22-ingredient blend.
Safety
Who should ask a clinician about these herbs first?
Anyone on diabetes, blood pressure or blood thinner medicine should ask a pharmacist before adding this liquid.
Keep taking prescribed medicine exactly as directed, and never stop or change it because of a supplement. The label also tells pregnant or nursing mothers, children under 18 and people with a known medical condition to consult a physician. LiverTox links gymnema and green tea extract to rare liver injury reports; see gymnema and green tea. Signs of severe low blood sugar (confusion, fainting, seizure), chest pain or trouble breathing: call 911.
NCCIH finds no reliable evidence that any herbal supplement controls diabetes (NCCIH, Diabetes and dietary supplements), and the ADA's 2026 Standards of Care do not recommend herbs for glycemic benefit (ADA 2026, Standards of Care, supplements).
Next steps
Where can you read about the other rows?
The other ingredient pages cover chromium, gymnema, coleus, the amino acids and the sweeteners.
The seller lists 2 bottles at $79 each ($158, plus shipping on that block), 3 at $69 ($207) and 6 at $49 ($294), with a 60-day money-back guarantee that, per the seller's checkout, applies after at least 30 days of use; read the live terms and confirm at the live checkout. See the pricing page.
FAQ
Ginseng and herbs questions
Is Panax ginseng in Olivaro?
Yes. The blend lists Panax Ginseng Aerial Extract, the parts above ground, in 12th place of 22, and prints no amount. One 16-trial analysis found fasting glucose 0.31 mmol/L lower with ginseng, but it did not state the species or part, and no trial tested Olivaro.
Does Olivaro contain maca?
Yes. Maca (Lepidium meyenii) Root Extract is the first of the 22 blend names, with no amount printed. A review found maca claims not fully supported and trials inconclusive.
Is eleuthero safe with blood pressure medicine?
We cannot say it is. LactMed reports that eleuthero may raise blood pressure, bleeding or blood sugar, and found no good human evidence for its uses. Ask a pharmacist if you take blood pressure or blood thinner medicine.
Does grapefruit extract affect medicines?
We found no source on extracts. FDA's page covers grapefruit juice and fruit and certain drug classes. Olivaro lists a grapefruit fruit extract with no amount, so ask a pharmacist if your medicine has a grapefruit warning.
Did a trial test Olivaro with these herbs together?
No. We found no trial of Olivaro or of this 22-ingredient blend. Each study here tested a single preparation, usually at a dose the label does not print.
Who wrote this
Written and reviewed by
Pages built from the label, the seller's brief and linked NIH, FDA, CDC, FTC and peer-reviewed sources.
Last updated . Read our editorial standards and how we check reviews. This website is the information site of a USA Authorized Olivaro Retailer. It is not the manufacturer, and the label names Instituto Experience as the distributor. We earn money when you buy through our order links.
Keep reading
More about Olivaro
USA Authorized Olivaro Retailer
Ready to look at Olivaro?
Check your medicines first, and ask a clinician or pharmacist if you take diabetes medicine or insulin. Then pick a pack: 2, 3 or 6 bottles of 30 mL. Packs are listed at $79, $69 and $49 a bottle with a 60-day money-back guarantee (after at least 30 days of use); confirm the total and shipping at checkout.
- Secure checkout on the seller's site
- 60-day money-back guarantee, per the seller
- Shipping shown at checkout



