Ingredient evidence
Panax ginseng blood sugar evidence: what the trials tested
Panax ginseng blood sugar evidence is inconclusive. A review of 16 trials found fasting glucose lower by 0.31 mmol/L but no HbA1c effect, in short trials. NCCIH says Asian ginseng might lower blood sugar. Olivaro lists Panax ginseng aerial extract with no amount, and no trial tested Olivaro.
Written by the Olivaro label deskUpdated · 5 min read

The trials
What do trials say about Panax ginseng and blood sugar?
They show a small fall in fasting glucose and no change in HbA1c. A meta-analysis of 16 randomized trials found fasting glucose lower by 0.31 mmol/L, with short trials and no stated species or plant part (Shishtar 2014, ginseng glycemic meta).
NCCIH says Asian ginseng might lower blood sugar, calls the evidence inconclusive and tells people with diabetes to talk to a provider (NCCIH, Asian ginseng). The reviews give no label-style dose that we can match to a bottle, and no trial tested Olivaro.
The Olivaro row
What kind of ginseng is in Olivaro?
The panel lists Panax ginseng aerial extract, meaning the above-ground parts, with no amount. It is the twelfth of 22 names sharing a 200 mg blend.
| Item | Trials | Olivaro label |
|---|---|---|
| Plant part | Not stated in the review | Aerial extract |
| Amount | Not in the abstract | Not printed; at most 200 mg |
| Length | Short trials | Not applicable |
Label against studies
Can the label be compared with the ginseng trials?
No, because neither side gives a usable amount. Any single blend ingredient could hold at most the whole 200 mg.
- Chromium (mcg, not mg)0.7 mcg on the label
Reference level: the adequate intake for men is 35 mcg a day (NIH); the label's chromium is 0.7 mcg, 2% of the Daily Value; not a study dose. A reference level, not a study dose: the label is 2% of the level. (NIH ODS, Chromium)
- Gymnema (at most 200 mg, the whole blend)at most 200 mg: the whole blend
Reference: LiverTox gives 400 mg three times daily (1,200 mg) as the typical dose; the label prints no gymnema amount, and 200 mg is the whole 22-ingredient blend. A reference level, not a study dose. The label prints no amount for this ingredient. (LiverTox, Gymnema)
- Caffeine (reference level)at most 200 mg: the whole blend
Reference level: 400 mg a day is FDA's level for most healthy adults; the label states no caffeine amount (guarana and green tea are in the 200 mg blend). A reference level, not a study dose. The label prints no amount for this ingredient. (FDA, Spilling the Beans caffeine) (Schimpl 2013, guarana review)
- Stevia (study threshold)at most 200 mg: the whole blend
Study: a meta-analysis found a low-certainty glucose fall only at 3,342 mg a day or more; the label prints no stevia amount. Studies used about 17 times the 200 mg blend ceiling. (Zare 2024, stevia glucose meta)
- Any other blend ingredientat most 200 mg: the whole blend
The label prints no amount for the other 18 ingredients; 200 mg is the whole blend. We found no trial at the unstated amount. No human trial range found. (21 CFR 101.36(c), proprietary blends) (Saldanha 2023, proprietary blends perspectives)
Log scale: each gridline is ten times the one before. Chromium is in micrograms (mcg), the other rows in milligrams (mg). Blend rows have no printed amount, so 200 mg, the whole blend, is shown as the most any one could hold. A bar being far away does not mean the product is unsafe or useless; it means the study results cannot be borrowed for it, because none tested Olivaro or this 22-ingredient blend.

Olivaro liquid: 30 mL a bottle1 mL serving · 2, 3 or 6 bottles · from $49 a bottle · shipping at checkout
See the priceInteractions
Is ginseng safe with diabetes medicine?
We cannot call it safe; ask your pharmacist. A supplement that might lower blood sugar adds to insulin or diabetes pills that can cause low blood sugar.
NCCIH's page names no diabetes drugs, and we found no source on ginseng with specific medicines or blood thinners, so a pharmacist should check the list. Eleuthero, also in the blend, is not true ginseng, and LactMed notes it may raise blood pressure, bleeding and blood sugar (LactMed, Eleuthero). Keep taking prescribed medicine, and never stop or change it because of a supplement. Severe low blood sugar (confusion, fainting, seizure), chest pain or trouble breathing: call 911. See the ginseng and herbs page.

90-serving supply
3 bottles: 90 mL
$207$69 a bottle
Shipping at checkout · 60-day guarantee
See 3 bottles
180-serving supply
6 bottles: 180 mL
$294$49 a bottle
Shipping at checkout · 60-day guarantee
See 6 bottlesSeller-listed prices; confirm at checkout (Olivaro sales site). Two bottles are also sold. If you take diabetes medicine or insulin, ask your clinician or pharmacist before you order.
FAQ
Olivaro questions people ask
Does ginseng help with diabetes?
A review of 16 trials found fasting glucose lower by 0.31 mmol/L and no HbA1c effect. NCCIH calls the evidence inconclusive. We cannot say it helps with diabetes, and anyone with diabetes should talk to a provider first.
Is Panax ginseng the same as Asian ginseng?
NCCIH uses Asian ginseng for the Panax species, but the review we read did not state which species or part its trials used. Olivaro lists Panax ginseng aerial extract, and we found no source on that exact part.
Can ginseng cause trouble sleeping?
NCCIH lists insomnia among Asian ginseng's side effects. Olivaro's guarana and green tea add caffeine sources, with no amount printed. Ask a clinician if you have sleep trouble, anxiety or a heart-rhythm condition.
Who wrote this
Written and reviewed by
Pages built from the label, the seller's brief and linked NIH, FDA, CDC, FTC and peer-reviewed sources.
Last updated . Read our editorial standards and how we check reviews. This website is the information site of a USA Authorized Olivaro Retailer. It is not the manufacturer, and the label names Instituto Experience as the distributor. We earn money when you buy through our order links.
Keep reading
More about Olivaro
USA Authorized Olivaro Retailer
Ready to look at Olivaro?
Check your medicines first, and ask a clinician or pharmacist if you take diabetes medicine or insulin. Then pick a pack: 2, 3 or 6 bottles of 30 mL. Packs are listed at $79, $69 and $49 a bottle with a 60-day money-back guarantee (after at least 30 days of use); confirm the total and shipping at checkout.
- Secure checkout on the seller's site
- 60-day money-back guarantee, per the seller
- Shipping shown at checkout



