Ingredient evidence
Chromium and blood sugar: what the trials found and what the label lists
Chromium and blood sugar evidence is mixed. In 10 trials of 509 people with type 2 diabetes, HbA1c was lower but fasting glucose was not. NIH calls the effect on glucose unclear. Olivaro lists 0.7 mcg of chromium (as chromium picolinate), 2% of the Daily Value, and no trial tested it.
Written by the Olivaro label deskUpdated · 5 min read

The evidence
What does the evidence say about chromium and blood sugar?
Chromium and blood sugar studies point in different directions. NIH's Office of Dietary Supplements calls the effect of chromium on glucose unclear (NIH ODS, Chromium).
A meta-analysis pooled 10 trials with 509 people who had type 2 diabetes. HbA1c was lower, but fasting glucose was not. The abstract gives no doses, so we cannot say what amounts were used, and no trial tested Olivaro (Zhao 2022, chromium type 2 diabetes meta). ADA's 2026 Standards of Care list chromium among the micronutrients with insufficient evidence for glycemic benefit (ADA 2026, Standards of Care, supplements).
The Olivaro row
How much chromium picolinate is in Olivaro?
The Supplement Facts panel lists chromium (as chromium picolinate) at 0.7 mcg per 1 mL serving, 2% of the Daily Value.
| Label amount | 0.7 mcg, which is 0.0007 mg |
|---|---|
| Daily Value | 0.7 / 0.02 = 35 mcg, matching the adult Daily Value |
| Adequate intake (ages 19-50) | 35 mcg for men, 25 mcg for women |
| Trial doses | Not in the abstract we read |
The Daily Value is a reference level, not a study dose. For chromium picolinate evidence specifically, we found no source comparing it with other forms.
Label against studies
How does Olivaro's chromium compare with what was studied?
The only fair comparison is to the 35 mcg reference: 0.7 / 35 is 2%. The study doses are not stated in the sources we read.
- Chromium (mcg, not mg)0.7 mcg on the label
Reference level: the adequate intake for men is 35 mcg a day (NIH); the label's chromium is 0.7 mcg, 2% of the Daily Value; not a study dose. A reference level, not a study dose: the label is 2% of the level. (NIH ODS, Chromium)
- Gymnema (at most 200 mg, the whole blend)at most 200 mg: the whole blend
Reference: LiverTox gives 400 mg three times daily (1,200 mg) as the typical dose; the label prints no gymnema amount, and 200 mg is the whole 22-ingredient blend. A reference level, not a study dose. The label prints no amount for this ingredient. (LiverTox, Gymnema)
- Caffeine (reference level)at most 200 mg: the whole blend
Reference level: 400 mg a day is FDA's level for most healthy adults; the label states no caffeine amount (guarana and green tea are in the 200 mg blend). A reference level, not a study dose. The label prints no amount for this ingredient. (FDA, Spilling the Beans caffeine) (Schimpl 2013, guarana review)
- Stevia (study threshold)at most 200 mg: the whole blend
Study: a meta-analysis found a low-certainty glucose fall only at 3,342 mg a day or more; the label prints no stevia amount. Studies used about 17 times the 200 mg blend ceiling. (Zare 2024, stevia glucose meta)
- Any other blend ingredientat most 200 mg: the whole blend
The label prints no amount for the other 18 ingredients; 200 mg is the whole blend. We found no trial at the unstated amount. No human trial range found. (21 CFR 101.36(c), proprietary blends) (Saldanha 2023, proprietary blends perspectives)
Log scale: each gridline is ten times the one before. Chromium is in micrograms (mcg), the other rows in milligrams (mg). Blend rows have no printed amount, so 200 mg, the whole blend, is shown as the most any one could hold. A bar being far away does not mean the product is unsafe or useless; it means the study results cannot be borrowed for it, because none tested Olivaro or this 22-ingredient blend.

Olivaro liquid: 30 mL a bottle1 mL serving · 2, 3 or 6 bottles · from $49 a bottle · shipping at checkout
See the priceCautions
Is chromium safe to take with diabetes medicine?
We cannot call it safe for anyone; ask your pharmacist. NIH says chromium can add to insulin and metformin and cause low blood sugar, and it sets no upper limit (NIH ODS, Chromium).
Keep taking prescribed medicine exactly as directed, and never stop or change it because of a supplement. If you have a kidney condition or any known medical condition, the label says to consult a physician first; we found no source on chromium and kidneys. Severe low blood sugar (confusion, fainting, seizure), chest pain or trouble breathing: call 911. See the chromium page.

90-serving supply
3 bottles: 90 mL
$207$69 a bottle
Shipping at checkout · 60-day guarantee
See 3 bottles
180-serving supply
6 bottles: 180 mL
$294$49 a bottle
Shipping at checkout · 60-day guarantee
See 6 bottlesSeller-listed prices; confirm at checkout (Olivaro sales site). Two bottles are also sold. If you take diabetes medicine or insulin, ask your clinician or pharmacist before you order.
FAQ
Olivaro questions people ask
Does chromium picolinate lower HbA1c?
In one meta-analysis of 10 trials and 509 people with type 2 diabetes, HbA1c was lower after chromium. Fasting glucose was not. The abstract gives no doses, the forms were not stated there, and no trial tested Olivaro.
Is 0.7 mcg of chromium a meaningful amount?
It is 2% of the 35 mcg Daily Value (0.7 / 0.02 = 35). That is a nutrition reference, not an amount from a trial. We found no source linking 0.7 mcg to any effect on blood sugar.
Can chromium cause low blood sugar?
NIH says chromium can add to insulin and metformin and cause low blood sugar. Ask your pharmacist before use if you take either. Signs include shakiness, hunger, dizziness and confusion.
Who wrote this
Written and reviewed by
Pages built from the label, the seller's brief and linked NIH, FDA, CDC, FTC and peer-reviewed sources.
Last updated . Read our editorial standards and how we check reviews. This website is the information site of a USA Authorized Olivaro Retailer. It is not the manufacturer, and the label names Instituto Experience as the distributor. We earn money when you buy through our order links.
Keep reading
More about Olivaro
USA Authorized Olivaro Retailer
Ready to look at Olivaro?
Check your medicines first, and ask a clinician or pharmacist if you take diabetes medicine or insulin. Then pick a pack: 2, 3 or 6 bottles of 30 mL. Packs are listed at $79, $69 and $49 a bottle with a 60-day money-back guarantee (after at least 30 days of use); confirm the total and shipping at checkout.
- Secure checkout on the seller's site
- 60-day money-back guarantee, per the seller
- Shipping shown at checkout


